A Small Cultural Break ;)

I wanted to explore outside Vietnam instead of attending meetings and visiting homes. I found an insanely packed yet amazing market full of Vietnamese food, cutlery, teapots, tea, and clothes! I used my bargaining skills (which failed me utterly) and received 20,000 đồng off a shirt for my friend, which is equivalent to 1 US Dollar!! Although I didn’t get much of a discount, I believe I can bargain better than my mother, who attempted and only received 5,000 đồng off of an item. The trick to bargaining is to ask for at least half off of an item. If the salesman/saleswomen refuses, just walk away and they will follow you and lower the price until you purchase it. It’s quite the experience, especially if you don’t speak Vietnamese.

P1130214 P1130215 P1130216

Vietnamese Food

Vietnamese Food

Tea!

Tea!

Vietnamese Snacks

Vietnamese Snacks

More Food!

More Food!

Shopping

Shopping

Shopping

Shopping

A place to buy amazing souvenirs/clothing!

Shopping

Shopping

People eat on small tables and chairs right in front of a “restaurant.” Typically, they eat phở or rice.

Shopping

Shopping

Fruit

Fruit

Here, a women sleeps as she sells her fruit. Very productive if you ask me. 🙂

Outside Market

Outside Market

There’s an market located outside of the bigger market where they sell live fish/seafood.

4 thoughts on “A Small Cultural Break ;)

  1. Hey Catherine! This sounds like such a cool market. Glad you could have such an exotic experience so close to home!

Leave a Reply

